tequila Information source for tequila and related products
Bookmark and Share

Categories of Tequila

Categories and Classifications of Tequila

There are two categories of tequila. The first is 100% de Agave or 100% Agave Tequila, The second category is Tequila, often called Mixted (Mixto). There are five types of tequila within these categories - Blanco (Silver), Joven (Gold), Resposado (Aged), Añejo (Extra aged) and Extra Añejo (Ultra-aged).

In accordance with the existing Official Mexican Standard for Tequila, NOM-006-SCFI-2005, Alcoholic Beverages – Tequila - Specifications, there are two classifications or categories of Tequila:
100% agave Tequila - "Tequila 100% de agave" o "Tequila 100% puro de agave" which is produced using only the sugars from the Weber blue agave; and "Tequila" which is made using 51% agave sugars and 49% other sugars, often called "mixto". These two categories of tequila can be further divided into the following five types: Each type of tequila has distinct characteristics.

Last Revision - 11 March 2010 - jat
Categories of Tequila - Tequila - The Spirit of Mexico